The Seven Chakras: Understanding Their Significance and Meaning

Apr 11, 2023

Significance of the Seven Chakras

If you have ever attended a yoga or meditation class, received an energy healing treatment such as reiki, or watched online videos on these subjects, you are likely familiar with the concept of chakras and their role in the body's energy flow. You may have questions about the seven chakras: What are they? What do they represent? How can they be activated? Should yoga be practised to balance the chakras? In this article, we will explore the significance and meaning of the seven chakras and gain a deeper understanding of their role in the body.

7 Chakra Wooden Wall Hanging

What are the seven chakras?

According to Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centres in your body. These spinning wheels of energy are linked to specific nerve bundles and important organs within the body. The human body contains seven chakras, each positioned along the spine in a particular location. Here are the seven chakras in the human body and their significance:

Muladhara Chakra (The root chakra)

Colour of the Chakra: Red

The initial chakra in the body is known as the Muladhara chakra, located at the base of the spine between the anus and genitals. Its function keeps us rooted and connected to the Earth's energy. As a result of its feminine nature, this chakra brings us closer to the Earth.

Swadishthana Chakra (The Sacral Chakra)

Colour of the Chakra: Orange

The significance of the sacral chakra among the seven chakras pertains to one's emotional identity, creativity, desire, pleasure, and self-gratification. This chakra is responsible for expressing emotions and can be found below the belly button, approximately three inches below the navel.

7 Chakra Wooden Wall Hanging

Buy This Product Click Here

Manipura Chakra (The solar plexus chakra )

Colour of the Chakra: Yellow

The Manipura Chakra, located at the level of the umbilicus and corresponding to the gastric or solar plexus, governs a sense of belonging and a cognitive comprehension of emotions. It also regulates the upper abdomen, small intestines, and stomach. An imbalance in this chakra can lead to various health problems, including diabetes, pancreatitis, adrenal imbalances, arthritis, colon diseases, stomach ulcers, or low blood pressure.

Anahata Chakra (The heart chakra)

Colour of the Chakra: Green

The chakra located at the cardiac plexus in the heart region influences an individual's social identity and impacts traits such as trust, forgiveness, unconditional love, and compassion. This chakra is responsible for the functioning of the heart, rib cage, blood, and circulatory system. However, the imbalance can lead to various health issues related to the thoracic spine, upper back, and shoulder problems.

Vishuddhi Chakra (The throat chakra)

7 Chakra Wooden Wall Hanging

Buy This Product Click Here

Colour of the Chakra: Blue

The throat chakra is situated at the level of the throat, precisely on the nerve plexus of the pharynx region. It governs personality traits such as communication, creativity, faith, truthfulness, and self-awareness. The throat chakra is primarily responsible for the throat and parathyroid gland. An imbalanced Vishuddhi Chakra can cause thyroid dysfunctions, sore throat, stiff neck, and other health concerns such as mouth ulcers, gum or tooth problems, laryngitis, and hearing problems.

Ajna Chakra (The third eye chakra)

Colour of the Chakra: Indigo

The chakra between the eyebrows is responsible for self-awareness, thinking, imagination, and concentration. It helps properly function the brain, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary gland, pineal glands, and neurological system. An imbalance in this chakra can lead to health issues such as headaches, nightmares, eyestrain, learning depression, blindness, or spinal dysfunctions.

Sahasrara Chakra (The crown chakra)

Colour of the Chakra: Violet

The crown chakra influences intuitive knowledge and connection to spirituality, integrating mind-body-spirit and conscious awareness. It is located at the top of the head and governs the centre of the head and midline above the ears, the brain, the nervous system, and the pineal gland.

Seven Chakras Crystals

7 Chakra Wooden Wall Hanging

Buy This Product Click Here

The seven chakras in the human body are often associated with crystals. Each chakra is believed to correspond to a different crystal. Here are the crystals commonly associated with each chakra:

Root Chakra –Red Jasper and Hematite

Sacral Chakra – Carnelian and Moonstone

Solar Plexus Chakra – Citrine and Yellow Jasper

Heart Chakra – Rose Quartz and Green Aventurine

Throat Chakra – Lapis Lazuli and Aquamarine

Third Eye Chakra – Amethyst and Fluorite

Crown Chakra – Clear Quartz and Amethyst

Seven Chakras Meditation

Meditation is a well-known technique to achieve mental peace and balance. It is often used for balancing and aligning the seven chakras. There are various meditation techniques, and individuals can choose the one that suits them best. Additionally, meditation can be enhanced by engaging the senses, such as hearing, visuals, touch, and sensation, to deepen the experience.

Also Read:- Unlocking the Power of the 7 Chakras: A Beginner's Journey to Inner Healing.

For interesting Home decor Posts, follow us on Instagram.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.